Chaos chaos chaos!

I had arranged for a meeting with doctors on Tuesday morning to go over two of my injuries. The reason for this was because team insurance only covers me for when I am in Spain during season, and so ultimately I wanted everything looked at before I headed to America for vacation. After a quick ultrasound on my groin, I was taken to an optometric to have my left eye looked at. It was later determined that I had obtained a scratched retina from a finger in the left eye during a practice earlier in the season, and that this was causing some pain during sleep. I received some medicine and a 24hr eye patch. All is well… or so I thought.

 

Wednesday morning, the day I was supposed to leave for America, I wake up with an excruciating itch and pain in my left eye. Tears had been dripping down my face all night, I had a headache from all the swelling and pressure beneath my eyelid, and the itchiness had turned into a dissatisfying torture. No way I could fly back to America in this condition. A doctor in America without insurance would cost many times more than a doctor in Spain, so I decided to call up the CBT staff and rebook my flight as this would give me ample time to heal.

 

At 6am my agent Guillermo Pascual, the CBT general manager Aleix Boada, the GM assistant, the assistant coach Miquel, and my team doctor Dr Nacho, were all awake, deciding what to do with me. Me and Miquel take off at 8am to try to change the flight at the Barcelona airport (1hr away) since the reservation office was still closed and my flight was at 10am. After successfully rebooking the flight to Monday I head into the hospital for a review. After hours of waiting, a new and less irritating eye patch was made, and I was told to not use my eye for at least a day or two. I feel better today thank god. But what a day. And it sucks that I missed a week of vacation time in Philadelphia. But worse things could have happened as always. Trying to stay positive

 

(not pleasant)

 

P.S. Special thanks to CBT, my agent, and Dr Nacho for putting up with my panic and stress at 6 in the morning.

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0